V.A. – Café Sputnik – Bandinfo

Image Messer Chups
Messer Chups were founded in 1998 as a side project of Oleg Gitarkin of ‚Messer für Frau Müller’ fame. Here Gitarkin plays bass and keyboards and programs all the samples. As guests he preferably engages attractive, usually dark-haired, mysterious female singers. On record as well as on tour he already starred the legendary Lydia Kavina, grandniece of the inventor of the Theremin, as well as Theremin virtuoso Barbara Buchholz. By now being the main project of Gitarkin, Messer Chups have already released several albums and toured Western Europe. With Messer Chups Gitarkin is nourishing his faible for B-movies from Ed Wood to Russ Meyer. Surf beats, Soviet analog synthesizer and Russian vocals make Messer Chups a kind of Adams Family of the Russian electronic scene.
www.messerchups.ru
   
Image O.M.F.O. (a.k.a. Our Man From Odessa)
German Popov’s journey lead him in 1989 from the Ukrainian Odessa at the Black Sea coast, where he was studying radio communication, via Berlin to Amsterdam, where he has been living since. There he released his first album in 1994. Shortly afterwards he founded the emigrants’ combo Sputnik, for which he wrote romantic tunes and space songs. At the same time he started to travel the world as a DJ. Under the moniker O.M.F.O. Popov released 7″ and 12″ singles with electronic and ambient music on various lables. Early on Popov was interested in Western electronic music, which reached even Odessa with music by acts like Kraftwerk, Jean-Michel Jarre or Giorgio Moroder. At the same time he liked folklore from the Soviet republics, which was omnipresent there anyway. His current album ‚TransBalkan Express’ was released in Germany in 2005. As he is actively in touch with the electronic scene in Russia as a brother in mind, we provided him with a special spot on this otherwisely strictly Russian compilation.
www.essayrecordings.com
   
Image Messer für Frau Müller
Messer für Frau Müller (Knife for Mrs. Miller) is probably the act on ‚Cafe Sputnik’, who is best known so far in the West. Within more than ten years they managed to release half a dozen records. They toured Western Europe several times and their album ‘Allo Superman’ was released on Hamburg cult label What’s so funny about. The two halves of this extraordinary project are the musicians Oleg Gitarkin and Oleg Kostrow. Out of sampled noises and voices of the 60’s and 70’s as well as electronic soundscapes they create a hilarious mix of beats and obscure atmosheres. Post easy listening. Soviet science fiction black and white films, comics and cut ‚n’ paste aesthetics form the visual head clip to this soundtrack music. Also check out the bonus video track on ‘Café Sputnik’.
www.solnzerecords.com
   
Image Dima Vikhornov
Dima Vikhornov, graduate from the piano section of Moscow University of Music usually plays jazz music. But from time to time, to our joy, he devotes himself to electronic music. In earlier days he used to play in the award-winning electro rock band ‘PorkRoll’. On this track on ‘Café Sputnik’ he creates an upbeat dance tune from a Russian traditional.
www.56stuff.ru/artists/vikhornov.htm
   
Image NetSlov
Over the years Netslov (No Words) have developed into a ‚real’ band. While their first album was purely instrumental, on their new record ‚Vsye svobodny’ already more than half of the songs feature vocals. Mastermind of Netslov is Den Kalashnik from St.Petersburg. Besides his work with Netslov as his main band, Kalashnik is also composing music for films and producing other bands. On the new album there is also a song featuring the singer of reggae dub icons Zion Train. The music of Netslov is complex and stylistically open. They also add elements of hip hop, dub, post rock and even psychedelica to their electronic base. Often Netslov are influenced by sounds from the Middle East. Ethno electronica might be a close description.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image

Kim & Buran
Kim & Buran is the brainchild of the young electronic artist Slava Zavyalov. Live he is also supported by a bass player. Zavyyalov is strongly inspired by Soviet cartoon movies from the Seventies. He is not using any computers, but only Soviet synthesizers. Kim & Buran mean to spread joy and brightness. Cosmic retro, fantasy romance, electronic poetry. The name of their album ‘Kosmos for Children’ says it all.
www.solnzerecords.com

   
Image Igor Vdovin
Igor Vdovin has taken a remarkable development. He set up the legendary folk punk band Leningrad together with Sergey Shnurov in 1997. Vdovin was singing and Shurov still playing bass back then. After only one album Vdovin quit the band and began to commit himself to electronic music. His first album ‚Light Music for Millions’ was first released on a Japanese record label in 2001. Now, three albums later, Vdovin is one of the most demanded and respected electronic musicians in Russia. Hence in 2005 he was invited to produce the new album of Russian superstar Zemfira.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image DJs Krugozory
DJs Krugozory that’s DJ Boris und DJ Georgi. The sphere of their musical interests reaches from house to lounge music. The DJs Krugozory are Russia’s and maybe the world’s oldest djs. DJ Boris (67) has been working most of his live as a scientist, scecializing in cybernetics. DJ Georgi (66) has had several occupations – from welder to church guard. In his dj-free time DJ Georgi is singing in the church choir and likes to play badminton. The couple met, how not strange, in a discotheque in 1999. By now they are famous in Russia, go on tour and are frequently seen on TV and in commercials. May they keep on rocking…
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Snegopady
Snegopady (Snow Falls) is the solo project of the guitar player of Russian cult band ‚Megapolis’ Yuri Mazenov. As with Megapolis, Snegopady often sing in a folky chanson way. But here they use mostly electronic instruments. Music from adults for adults, as Mezenov puts it. For ‘Café Sputnik we chose the charming little instrumental ‘Polka’. Nomen est Omen.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image

Oleg Kostrow

Whether with Messer für Frau Müller, solo or with his newest project Supersonic Future, Oleg Kostrow is certainly one of the most important characters of the Russian electronic scene. Different than Gitarkin with Messer Chups, Kostrow is turning more and more towards electro pop. Cool and with Western production standards. Here he gets support from the charming singer Juicy. This track on ‘Café Sputnik’ just sounds ideal for a commercial clip still to be shot.
http://www.kostrow.com ww.snegiri.ru

   
Image Andrej Zuyev
The composer and producer Andrei Zuyev is usually writing songs for other people. That’s why for his solo album he wrote ‘songs without words’ only for himself. Zuyev usually likes to stay in the background, although he shaped the sound of some very successful pop projects in Russia. Here he is showing more of his own rather uncommercial side. The sound is a bit nostalgic with the artist having European films of the Sixties in his head.Zuyev himself calls this ‚electronic alternative music’.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Dzuma
Dzuma is the baby of Vladimir Dzumkov. The band also comprises a keyboards and a guitar player as well as Dj Laharry, who is quite famous in Eastern Europe. Dzumkov is Russian, but originates from Estonia. After various stops in Moscow and Amsterdam amongst others, he is now back in Tallinn. Dzuma create organic easy listening. They call it themselves ‚easy punk’. Dzumkov is also playing in the very successful Russian rock band ‚Konez Filma’. But Dzuma is his uncompromissing heart project.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Nezhnoye Eto
Nezhnoye Eto (‚A Tender Something’) play unserious, cheerful music for big children. Many of their tracks are little sketches. A thought, one idea realized, expressed – that’s it. The band themselves call it ‚Muesli music’, whereas ‚mysly’ in Russian also means ‚thoughts’. Hence Nezhnoye Eto create a Muesli out of samples, styles and ideas, which shall make people think. Probably. Nezhnoye Eto started in the Russian town Saratov in 1999, where Igor Melnikov was programme director at a radio station at that time. One day Sergej Zuzlin, who was still going to school back then, brought in his demos. Together they have been developing music since. They never perform live though. On their new record they were joined by Anetshka on vocals. Parapustjakov (‚A little bit of nothing’) is a little, light, cheerful tune, that sticks to your head. See also their charming flash video on ‘Cafe Sputnik’.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Notkin
The project Notkin consists of one person – Alexey Notkin. Even his friends just call him by his surname. He has been tinkering with electronic music since 1995. Notkin is composing all his tracks by himself on his computer at home. He regards his music as a ‘pulp of different styles’, where there is room for jazz and techno as well as hip hop and lounge music. Notkin is also renown for his excellent cover versions of Mescherin tracks.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Ensemble Mescherina
The Ensemble of Electro-Musical Instruments directed by Vyacheslav Mescherin was founded within the music department of the State Radio of the Soviet Union in 1957. For more than thirty years, from the Fifties up to the Eighties the music of Ensemble Mescherina could be heard on radio and TV, in radio plays and cartoon movies almost every day. The ensemble managed to compose more then 700 pieces of music until 1990. Some of Mescherins compositions are public domain by now and can be hummed by everyone in Russia. One example is the track ‘On the chicken farm’, which was used in the very popular cartoon series ‚Rabbit and Wolf’. In 1959 the Soviet government asked Mescherin for an electronic sound recording of ‘The Internationale’, to be sent to outer space on board of the first sputnik. Mescherin also designed and built many electronic instruments himself. Balalaikas, accordions and guitars, which he amplified, now sounded as if played on another planet. Mescherin and his ensemble were more or less the only experimental musicians in the field of electronic music in the USSR up to the Sixties. Thanks to the Moscow label Snegiri some of Mescherin’s recordings have been dug out again of the Russian radio archive and released on CD again. It’s a shame Mescherin (1923-1995) himself didn’t live to see this. The Ensemble Mescherina is a crucial part of the musical history of the Soviet Union.

V.A. – Café Sputnik – Bandinfo

Image Messer Chups
Messer Chups wurde 1998 als Nebenprojekt von Oleg Gitarkin von der Band Messer Für Frau Müller gegründet. Gitarkin spielt hier Bass und Keyboard und programmiert alle Samples. Dazu gesellen sich meist bezaubernde, bevorzugt dunkelhaarige, geheimnisvolle Gastsängerinnen. Auf Platte und Tour waren schon die legendäre Lydia Kavina, Großnichte des Erfinders des Theremin, und die Theremin-Virtuosin Barbara Buchholz zu Gast. Inzwischen das Hauptprojekt von Gitarkin, haben Messer Chups bereits mehrere Alben veröffentlicht und sind regelmäßig in Westeuropa auf Tour. Bei Messer Chups lebt Gitarkin sein Faible für B-Movies von Ed Wood bis Russ Meyer aus. Surf-Beats, sowjetische Analog-Syntheziser und russischer Gesang machen Messer Chups zu einer Art Addams Family der russischen Electronic-Szene.
www.messerchups.ru
   
Image O.M.F.O. (a.k.a. Our Man From Odessa)
German Popows Reise führte ihn 1989 vom ukrainischen Odessa an der Schwarzmeerküste, wo er zunächst Radio-Kommunikation studierte, über Berlin nach Amsterdam, wo er heute lebt. Dort veröffentlichte er 1994 sein erstes Album. Kurze Zeit später gründete er die Emigranten-Combo Sputnik, für die er romantische Melodien und Space-Songs schrieb. Währenddessen bereiste er als DJ die Welt. Unter dem Namen O.M.F.O. veröffentlichte Popow bei verschiedenen Labels 7″- und 12″-Singles mit Electronica und Ambient-Musik. Schon früh interessierte sich Popow für westliche elektronische Musik, die in Form von Kraftwerk, Jean-Michel Jarre und Giorgio Moroder auch Odessa erreichte, und Folklore aus den Sowjetrepubliken, die dort sowieso allgegenwärtig war. Sein aktuelles Album TransBalkan Express ist 2005 in Deutschland erschienen. Da er engen Kontakt zur Elektronik-Szene in Russland hat und musikalisch seelenverwandt ist, haben wir ihm den Exotenplatz auf dieser sonst rein russischen Compilation eingeräumt.
www.essayrecordings.com
   
Image Messer für Frau Müller
Messer für Frau Müller ist die im Westen wohl bisher bekannteste Band im Café Sputnik. In gut zehn Jahren haben sie ein halbes Dutzend Platten veröffentlicht. Sie waren mehrmals in Westeuropa auf Tour und ihr Album Allo Superman erschien auf dem Hamburger Kult-Label What’s so funny about. Hinter dem außergewöhnlichen Projekt stecken die Musiker Oleg Gitarkin und Oleg Kostrov. Aus gesampelten Geräuschen, Stimmen, Klängen der 60/70er Jahre und elektronischen Sounds entsteht eine Mischung mit viel Witz, Tanz-Beats und skurrilen Atmosphären. Post-Easy-Listening. Sowjetische SciFi-Schwarzweißfilme, Comics und Cut ’n‘ Paste-Ästhetik bilden den imaginären Clip zu dieser Soundtrackmusik. Siehe auch den Video-Bonus-Track auf Café Sputnik.
www.solnzerecords.com
   
Image Dima Vikhornov
Dima Vikhornov, Absolvent der Musikhochschule Moskau im Fach Klavier, macht eigentlich meist Jazz, aber ab und zu widmet er sich zu unserer Freude elektronischer Musik. Früher spielte er erfolgreich in der Electro-Rock-Band „PorkRoll“. Beim ‚Folk Song‘ auf Café Sputnik kreiert er aus einem Volkslied einen Upbeat-Dance-Tune.
www.56stuff.ru/artists/vikhornov.htm
   
Image NetSlov
NetSlov (Keine Worte) haben sich im Laufe der Jahre zu einer „richtigen“ Band entwickelt. Während das erste Album noch rein instrumental war, sind auf dem neuesten Werk Vsye svobodny bereits mehr als die Hälfte der Songs mit Gesang. Mastermind von NetSlov ist Den Kalashnik aus St.Petersburg. Neben seiner Arbeit mit Netslov als seiner Hauptband komponiert Kalashnik auch Filmmusik und produziert andere Bands. Auf dem neuen Album findet sich ein Song gemeinsam mit dem Sänger der Reggae-Dub-Ikonen Zion Train. NetSlovs Musik ist sehr komplex und stilistisch offen. Sie verwenden über ihrem elektronischen Fundament Elemente von HipHop, Dub, Post-Rock oder gar Psychedelica aus den Siebzigern. Oft werden sie von fernöstlichen Klängen beeinflusst. Eine passende Beschreibung ist vielleicht Ethno-Electronica.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image

Kim & Buran
Kim & Buran ist die Kopfgeburt des jungen Elektronik-Künstlers Slava Zavyalov. Live wird er noch von einem Bassisten unterstützt. Zavyalov lässt sich inspirieren von sowjetischen Zeichentrickfilmen der Siebziger. So verwendet er auch keine Computer, sondern ausschließlich sowjetische Synthesizer. Kim & Buran soll Freude und Helligkeit verbreiten. Cosmic Retro, Fantasy-Romantik, elektronische Lyrik. Der Name des Albums Kosmos for Children ist Programm.
www.solnzerecords.com

   
Image Igor Vdovin
Igor Vdovin hat eine erstaunliche Entwicklung genommen. 1997 hat er gemeinsam mit Sergej Shnurov die legendäre Folk-Punk-Band Leningrad gegründet. Damals sang noch Vdovin und Shnurov spielte Bassgitarre. Nach nur einem Album verließ Vdovin die Band und begann, sich elektronischer Musik zu widmen. Sein erstes Album Light Music for Millions erschien 2001 zuerst auf einem japanischen Label. Jetzt, drei Alben später, ist Vdovin einer der meist geachteten und gefragten Elektronikmusiker Russlands. So durfte er 2005 das neue Album des russischen Superstars Zemfira produzieren.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image DJs Krugozory
DJs Krugozory – das sind DJ Boris und DJ Georgi. Die Sphäre ihrer musikalischen Interessen reicht von House bis Lounge. Die DJs Krugozory sind die ältesten DJs Russlands und vielleicht der Welt. DJ Boris (67) hat sich die meiste Zeit seines Lebens als Wissenschaftler der Kybernetik gewidmet. DJ Georgi (66) übte verschiedene Berufe aus – vom Schweißer bis zum Kirchenwächter. In seiner DJ-freien Zeit singt DJ Georgi im Kirchenchor und spielt gern Badminton. Kennengelernt haben sich die beiden, wie sollte es anders sein, 1999 in einer Diskothek. Inzwischen sind sie in Russland berühmt, gehen auf Tournee und sind auch des Öfteren im Fernsehen und in Werbeclips zu sehen. Auf dass sie noch lange rocken mögen…
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Snegopady
Snegopady (Schneefälle) ist das Soloprojekt des Gitarristen der Kultband Megapolis, Yuri Mazenov. Wie auch bei Megapolis wird bei Snegopady meist folkloristisch/chansonesk gesungen. Allerdings kommen hier elektronische Instrumente zum Einsatz. Musik von Erwachsenen für Erwachsene, wie Mazenov es ausdrückt. Für Café Sputnik haben wir das charmante kleine Instrumentalstück ‚Polka‘ ausgewählt. Nomen est Omen.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Oleg Kostrow
Sei es bei Messer für Frau Müller, solo oder bei seinem neuesten Projekt Supersonic Future, Oleg Kostrow zählt sicher zu den wichtigsten Protagonisten der russischen Electronic-Szene. Im Gegensatz zu Gitarkin bei Messer Chups entwickelt sich Kostrow eher in Richtung Electro-Pop. Cool und produktionstechnisch auf westlichem Niveau. Unterstützt wird er hier von der bezaubernden Sängerin Juicy. Musik, für die man eigentlich einen Werbeclip drehen müsste.
http://www.kostrow.com
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Andrej Zuyev
Der Komponist und Produzent Zuyev komponiert und textet gewöhnlich Songs für andere. Für sein Soloalbum schrieb er deshalb „Lieder ohne Worte“ für sich selbst. Zuyev bleibt lieber im Hintergrund, obwohl er einigen sehr erfolgreichen Pop-Projekten in Russland zum richtigen Sound verholfen hat. Hier lebt er nun seine eigene, eher unkommerzielle Seite aus. Der Sound ist etwas nostalgisch und im Kopf hat der Künstler dabei europäische Filme der Sechziger. Zuyev selbst nennt dies „elektronische alternative Popmusik“.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Dzuma
Dzuma ist das Baby von Vladimir Dzumkov. Zu der Band gehören auch noch ein Keyboarder, ein Gitarrist und der in Osteuropa bekannte DJ Laharry. Dzumkov ist Russe, kommt aber aus Estland. Nach diversen Stationen, u.a. in Moskau und Amsterdam, ist er nun auch wieder in Tallinn gelandet. Dzuma machen organisches Easy Listening. Sie selbst nennen es Easy-Punk. Dzumkov spielt zudem noch in der sehr erfolgreichen Rockband ‚Konez Filma‘. Doch Dzuma ist sein kompromissloses Herzensprojekt.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Nezhnoye Eto
Nezhnoye Eto („Das sanfte Etwas“) machen unseriöse, verspielte Musik für große Kinder. Viele ihrer Tracks sind kleine Entwürfe. Ein Gedanke, eine Idee reingepackt, ausgedrückt – fertig. Sie selbst nennen es „Müsli-Musik“, wobei „mysly“ im Russischen auch „Gedanken“ heißt. Nezhnoye Eto machen also ein Müsli aus Samples, Stilen und Ideen, das zum Nachdenken anregen soll. Oder so ähnlich. Nezhnoye Eto entstand 1999 in der Stadt Saratov, wo Igor Melnikov Radio-Musikdirektor war. Eines Tages brachte ihm Sergej Zuzlin, damals noch Schüler, seine Demos vorbei. Gemeinsam entwickeln sie seitdem Musik in ihrem Projekt Nezhnoye Eto. Live traten die beiden allerdings nie auf. Auf dem neuen Album ist Sängerin Anetshka hinzugekommen. „A little bit of nothing“ („Parapustjakov“) ist ein kleines, leichtes, fröhliches Liedchen, das einem nicht mehr aus dem Ohr geht. Siehe auch das charmante Flash-Video auf Café Sputnik.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Notkin
Das Projekt Notkin besteht aus einer Person – nämlich Alexej Notkin. Seine Freunde nennen ihn auch alle nur beim Nachnamen. Seit 1995 bastelt er elektronische Musik. Notkin komponiert seine Tracks alle selbst zuhause am Computer. Er sieht seine Musik als einen „Brei aus verschiedenen Stilen“, in dem sowohl für Jazz und Techno, als auch für HipHop und Lounge Platz ist. Bekannt ist Notkin auch für einige hervorragende Coverversionen von Mescherin-Tracks.
www.snegiri.ru
   
Image Ensemble Mescherina
Das Ensemble elektromusikalischer Instrumente unter der Leitung von Vyatsheslav Mescherin entstand 1957 in der Musikredaktion des Staatlichen Rundfunks der Sowjetunion. Im Laufe von dreißig Jahren, von den Fünfzigern bis in die Achtziger war die Musik des Ensembles Mescherina fast täglich im Radio und Fernsehen, bei Hörspielen und Trickfilmen zu hören. Bis 1990 hatte das Ensemble mehr als 700 Kompositionen aufgenommen. Einige Stücke Mescherins sind inzwischen Volksgut und jedem in Russland im Ohr. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist das Stück „Auf der Hühnerfarm“, welches bei einem Teil der legendären Zeichentrickfilmserie „Hase und Wolf“ verwendet wurde. Unter anderem hat Mescherin auch eine elektronische Version der „Internationale“ aufgenommen, die vom ersten Sputnik der SU ins Weltall gebracht wurde.
Mescherin hat sich um die Entwicklung und Produktion elektronischer Musikinstrumente in der Sowjetunion verdient gemacht. Er entwickelte das Kammerton-Piano, ein elektronisches Harmonium und baute den damals in der UdSSR nicht erhältlichen Reverberator nach. Mescherin und sein Ensemble waren auf dem Gebiet der elektronischen Musik in der UdSSR in den Sechzigern mehr oder weniger die einzigen Experimentalmusiker. Umso wichtiger ist es, dass ein Teil dieser Aufnahmen vom Label Snegiri aus dem russischen Radio-Archiv wieder ausgegraben und erstmals auf CD veröffentlicht wurde. Leider konnte dies Mescherin (1923-1995) selbst nicht mehr miterleben.