il Civetto – il Civetto

il Civetto
Format: CD-Album/Download
Cat.No.: EBM026
EAN-Code: 4015698003116
Release: 07.11.2015
Order now at Eastblok Music or Digital


A colourful mix for the world, invented in Berlin by a band called il Civetto. They have been around since 2010. After a spontaneous performance on a Berlin underground train which got the whole wagon dancing, they were engaged on the spot by a passenger for a gig at his party. It took off from there: more bookings, two EPs, two music videos. By now il Civetto have played more than 250 concerts. They are regulars at the coolest Berlin clubs like Ritter Butzke or Kater Holzig. And abroad: Austria, Denmark, The Netherlands or Turkey have been on their road map. Il Civetto lives in the here and now. They are typical city buskers, constantly improvising. Their set up consists of acoustic guitar, bass, ukulele, clarinet, saxophone and a self-made percussion set of cajòn, bongos, djembe, snare drum and cow bell. This gives them wide options to create new sounds and mixtures on stage every time. Il Civetto’s songs are never too heavy, but always danceable. Latin passion meets oriental mysticism, created by Berlin boys.

Their lyrics are a mix of French, Portuguese and languages which still have to be invented. Between the songs they tell stories. Il Civetto takes you on a journey, strolls with you through the ship or takes you on a chat with lighthouse keeper Baba Che. And it swings and swings. We follow a sad fairy into the woods and climb over a lemon tree back into the light.
And now finally there is the album. A trip into the heart of il Civetto. There we find the very self of il Civetto: spontaneous joy of life. Old and new songs have been rearranged and beefed up with multiple instruments. The stage action is translated into multilayered studio sound. The result is mostly uplifting, swinging, groovy, but sometimes also mysterious, exotic and melancholic. Il Civetto’s sound can be instantly recognized. Singer Leon’s passionate voice has this kind of timbre that can mirror euphoria as well as longing. Somehow their songs manage to make you dance wildly at their concerts, while you can relax to the same songs at home.
This album is the compass for new journeys through the world of il Civetto. These stories will be told and retold on tour. And there will be new stories –a little different every time.

Two video clips are in the pipeline. Crowdfunding is to start soon. The fan base is growing with every concert. As the boys are well-connected in the Berlin club scene there will be remixes and the release party in December is meant to be a rave with DJ friends.
il Civetto will go their very own way, through the days and through the night. Baba Che never sleeps.



1. Vert dans le nuit 02:51 listen
2. Baba Che 03:54 listen
3. Ébabaré 03:21 listen
4. C’est pas part 04:22 listen
5. Ungeheuer 04:41 listen
6. Zuraz 03:09 listen
7. Moichele 04:49 listen
8. Parafinada 03:35 listen
9. Skit 1 00:55 listen
10. Meu Amor 03:05 listen
11. Tamarir 04:03 listen
12. Skit 2 00:12 listen
13. Puro Loca 04:06 listen
14. Liberté Ana 03:51 listen

3 thoughts on “il Civetto – il Civetto

  1. Pingback: Neuveröffentlichung 10 Years Eastblok Music |

  2. Marlues

    Hallo Jungs, Euer Konzert auf dem Oldenburger Kultursommer war phantastisch. Die Leute waren begeistert und ich natürlich auch. Nur schade, dass Ihr um 19:00 Uhr und nicht als zweite Gruppe um 20:15 Uhr gespielt habt. Das wäre der bessere Platz gewesen, da dann mehr Leute kommen. Aber die virtuosen “Opal Ocean” waren auch klasse. Hätten halt besser um 19:00 Uhr gepasst. Danke für die tollen 1,5 Stunden.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *